top of page

Planets are celestial objects that orbit a star and do not produce their own light. They are classified as such based on several criteria, including their size, composition, and the way they orbit their star. There are currently eight planets in our solar system, listed in order from the sun:

Mercury - the smallest planet in the solar system, located closest to the sun.

Venus - the second planet from the sun, often called Earth's "twin" because of its similar size and composition.

Earth - the third planet from the sun and the only known planet with life.

Mars - the fourth planet from the sun, known for its reddish color and its history of being explored by spacecraft.

Jupiter - the largest planet in the solar system, known for its colorful bands of clouds and its many moons.

Saturn - the second largest planet, famous for its extensive ring system and many moons.

Uranus - the third largest planet, notable for its extreme tilt and its system of rings and moons.

Neptune - the fourth largest planet, known for its deep blue colour and its strong winds.

In addition to these eight planets, there are also several other types of celestial objects in our solar system, including dwarf planets, asteroids, comets, and moons. The study of planets and other objects in our solar system is known as planetary science, and it is an important field of study for understanding the history and evolution of our solar system.

bottom of page